I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Blu-Ray is the new standard

with 3 comments

I know it’s old news, but I decided to write something here after I received a newsletter from Sony with the title “The world has decided”.

In 2006 I said that I would go with PS3 (if I could afford it). Well, by the time the opportunity came, I could not, so XBox360 was the obvious choice. So, what does that all matters? If you read my post about PS3, you’re going to see that back in 2006 I was already prising Blu-Ray over HD-DVD, because by that time I already made my choice of format.

No, I’m not saying “I knew it”, I’m just writing this post to say that Microsoft lost this war.

Nobody knows for sure why M$ was going against the obvious (some have a few ideas why), but the fact is that the battle has come to an end, and the obvious has come to surface. Search around the web, and you’re going to see how many sites talk about companies declaring HD-DVD EOL. Even M$ did it already.

On Wikipedia, the official death of HD-DVD has been marked as February, 19, 2008, after Toshiba decided to EOL it’s production.

That’s it. It’s over. Good luck. Bye bye. Now let’s move on to the next format war.🙂

[Update on Mar/13] Microsoft publically stated their Blu-Ray support.

Written by netmask

março 6, 2008 às 09:16

Publicado em anything, hardware

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

3 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] pamibe wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I know it’s old news, but I decided to write something here after I received a newsletter from Sony with the title “The world has decided”. In 2006 I said that I would go with PS3 (if I could afford it). Well, by the time the opportunity came, I could not, so XBox360 was the obvious choice. So, what does that all matters? If you read my post about PS3, you’re going to see that back in 2006 I was already prising Blue-Ray over HD-DVD, because by that time I already made my choice of format. No, […]

  2. nitpick: it’s “blu”, not “blue”.🙂

    thebluesgnr

    março 7, 2008 at 09:40

  3. Well, it is a blue ray, isn’t it?🙂

    netmask

    março 7, 2008 at 10:04


Deixe uma resposta

