I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

LG DV298H

with 4 comments

I just bought a new DVD player. An LG DV298H. It’s interesting that it’s has been officially released by LG in Australia only, but I could get one fairly cheap in retail stores in Brazil.

Looks good, plays fine, and is my first DVD with HDMI. That will fix the fact that my XBox can’t play region 4 DVDs, neither DivX with subtitles (even though the subtitles in the LG look bad, which will need a firmware update). This is not the best player around, but will do the trick.

More fun.🙂

Written by netmask

fevereiro 8, 2008 às 11:20

Publicado em hardware

Tagged with , , ,

4 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i need bigger subtitles on my lg dv298h is there any update? thanks for help

    meni

    abril 10, 2008 at 17:21

  2. hi i am from israel and six month ago i bought the lg dv 298h’ at first the subtitles worked fine’ but now a see scrambled letters, what uptad do i need to dowenload and where do i download it from

    dor lifshitz

    dezembro 3, 2008 at 15:06

  3. Sorry dor, I gave up on this DVD. The decoder chip is terrible. The video and the media needs to be perfect to be playable, which is not the case 90% of the time. I bought myself a Popcorn Hour and toss this player in the trash.

    netmask

    dezembro 3, 2008 at 19:21

  4. Hey, wsup… I was also getting kinda lifshitz problem, the subtitles were showing up in rare characters… I accidentally set them up to korean or something like that, I just had to choose the subtitle code to match the language that of the subtitle, then they went back to normal… What I really hate, and would really really like doing, is to get rid of that background transparency that appears behind the subtitles… Anyone knows how to do this?

    Icaro

    janeiro 24, 2010 at 23:25


Deixe uma resposta

