I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Trick for a cheap bluetooth dongle

with 8 comments

Last week I bought a cheap bluetooth dongle for my home desktop. My wife just wants to copy MP3 to her cellphone, and download pictures from the phone to the computer, so I didn’t see the need to spend too much. So I got this weird dongle that simply identifies itself as ES-388 on the box. When I got home, connected, and:

hcid[2280]: Can’t read name for hci0: Input/output error (5)
hcid[2280]: Can’t read class of device on hci0: Input/output error(5)

Dam… After googling around looking for the product name (found nothing) and the USB ID (0a5c:2100 Broadcom Corp.), I finally discovered that this little guy is, in fact, a Broadcom 2045 (why hide?). After some more google love, I finally stumbled with the final tip that fixed my problems:

options hci_usb reset=1

Add the above line to /etc/modprobe.conf and be happy. Now I can transfer files back and forth, easily (well, not that much), even though veeeeery slow.🙂

Oh, before you ask, the phone is a Sony Z550i.

Written by netmask

julho 17, 2007 às 23:40

Publicado em hardware

Tagged with

8 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi!

    I have the same trouble with the very similar device.

    Does your “little guy” (funny nickname) wear transparent jacket? My one does. And I can see that there on the PCB is the unused place for 8-legged IC (close to USB connector). And the writing on the PCB directly claims: “RoHS BT-2045”

    But that little guy behaves itself more strangely than yours one: sometimes it works just perfectly, but some other times it lies that it is only the USB-hub, not BT-device🙂

    More, the native WIDCOMM software (for windows. under ubuntu 7.04 I getting the same “i/o error (5)”) some times refuses to recognise it!

    Tried your soultion. Saw no results.😦

    I do not visiting blog too often, so if you would say me something, use the email provided.

    All the best!

    Sergei "Troublemaker" Agarkoff

    agosto 13, 2007 at 00:41

  2. Hey Serguei,

    I can see “BT-2405C” on the board. Maybe we have different versions of the same devices.

    It does show as a USB hub though:

    kernel: hub 2-2:1.0: USB hub found
    kernel: hub 2-2:1.0: 3 ports detected
    kernel: input: USB HID v1.11 Keyboard [HID 0a5c:4502] on usb-0000:00:1d.1-2.2
    kernel: Bluetooth: HCI USB driver ver 2.9
    kernel: input: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [HID 0a5c:4503] on usb-0000:00:1d.1-2.3

    You can see it has three sub interfaces: keyboard, bluetooth and mouse. My guess is that the keyboard and mouse interfaces need to be specific for those kind of devices (serial) and the other is for generic bluetooth devices.

    Why are you using a Windows software on a Linux machine? Maybe your chipset needs some other trick I don’t know about.

    netmask

    agosto 13, 2007 at 14:54

  3. 1. windows vs linux
    I do not use windows software on linux machine. The notebook (Fujitsu-Siemens AMILO PRO 3505) have two OSes installed: ubuntu feisty witha all latest updates as primary and OEM winXP/pro/sp2/updates as secondary.

    On the home sdesktop PC I’ve winXP installed as the only OS.

    Trying to build the PAN between these two computers, and can’t determine what is the reason of network failure.

    The secondary BT-adapter is BlueTake bt009si. Last winter we, I & my brother, had have really working PAN between two winXP’s with my 009si and his 007si. All worked just perfectly. Now I trying to repeat that, and can’t even make TCP/IP work.😦

    2. Device
    In kern.log I can see the results very similar to your ones. And I can’t decide what’s wrong… Either that adaptor can’t be used for PAN building, or my brain’s internal driver of HANDS.SYS is broken🙂

    I’ve reads mass of how-tos, but all of these describing the pan between two linux installations, and it is not the thing I need.

    3. Usage
    I can OBEX with the desktop or my mobile (moto v620), without any problems, but I want more! I want the PAN!

    Sergei "Troublemaker" Agarkoff

    agosto 13, 2007 at 19:17

  4. Big thanx to you. The line in modprobe.conf did the trick!

    drhoo

    agosto 19, 2007 at 09:32

  5. I also have BT-2045C dongle and strange problem. It works fine, but after wasting several days to make my fiesty (repetably – meaning – after reboot) share internet connection, I’ve found out that I have problems with device pairing. And after all it appeared that by BT dongle changes BD Address on each boot (and each time its unplugged/plugged into USB port). I’m not sure if address is random – it looks like oscillating around the “true” one (usually 3-4 bits are changed compared to previous one).

    Anyone seen such behavior? Is there any possibility to override BD Addres with some predefined value?

    Dongle was checked in another PC (also ubuntu linux, but much more modern motheboard) – behaves same way.

    Any idea what to do, but just to redo pairing each time?

    marcin

    zorba

    outubro 11, 2007 at 16:57

  6. Seems this thing’s made by Goldfly Industry….I been looking around for its driver couldn’t find it! Any tips?? oh i’m on xp btw!

    Kevin

    janeiro 28, 2009 at 10:09

  7. Hey Kevin. Sorry, but I never tried this dongle under Windows. IIRC it does come with a driver CD, but I never cared, because I use Linux. Sorry.

    netmask

    janeiro 28, 2009 at 10:20

  8. zorba :I also have BT-2045C dongle and strange problem. It works fine, but after wasting several days to make my fiesty (repetably – meaning – after reboot) share internet connection, I’ve found out that I have problems with device pairing. And after all it appeared that by BT dongle changes BD Address on each boot (and each time its unplugged/plugged into USB port). I’m not sure if address is random – it looks like oscillating around the “true” one (usually 3-4 bits are changed compared to previous one).
    Anyone seen such behavior? Is there any possibility to override BD Addres with some predefined value?
    Dongle was checked in another PC (also ubuntu linux, but much more modern motheboard) – behaves same way.
    Any idea what to do, but just to redo pairing each time?
    marcin

    @zorba

    Christopher

    maio 25, 2009 at 07:18


Deixe uma resposta

