I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Irony

leave a comment »

Definition of “irony”: (…) (1) : incongruity between the actual result of a sequence of events and the normal or expected result (2) : an event or result marked by such incongruity. (…) (Webster).

I ask to the usual readers of this blog (which now are so few): what did you think when I said that I was working for Red Hat? Some of you, as I, think “oh, nice chance to get more involved!” … … … Not!😦

Well, I gotta say that it is not because of lack of opportunity or resources. We’re all free to contribute whenever we want, the way we want, just like a community member. It makes even easier (in theory) because you’re somewhat near the core developers. The thing is, for me, it lacks one of the most important things in a voluntary work: time.

On my last job I had a hell lot of free time, that’s why my contributions came so fast and so furious. Now it happens that I’m working 14 or even 16 hours a day (counting from the time I get out home to the time I get back), and it makes a lot difficult to contribute with something meaningful when you can only work on your contributions 2 hours a day.

I’m not complaining, not at all, it has been a great pleasure working for Red Hat, but the level of commitment necessary to fulfill my internal workload has been massive. Everyday I am more and more happy that I have made this choice, because there are lots of interesting things to do, and with great support from the bosses. That’s what makes you happy about your job: do something you like, in a company with great leadership that cares about the little guys.

By the way, did I mention that I’ve been traveling a lot? Well, I’ve never get the chance to travel abroad once every two months, so it’s been “a lot” for my standards. I’ve already been to Guildford/UK, and Raleigh/USA. Next week, I’m going to be in Buenos Aires/ARG.

Moving on. Life’s good, and we need make it worth.🙂

Written by netmask

junho 2, 2007 às 11:31

Publicado em linux

Tagged with ,

Deixe uma resposta

