I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Release of openSUSE 10.2

with one comment

The shiny new openSUSE 10.2 has just been released. I have received the announcement e-mail about 30 min ago and I’m already downloading it using the torrents.

One interesting thing that should be noticed by the people that don’t regularly follow up the development, is the difference in the name. The so-called SUSE Linux has been (finally, IMHO) renamed to openSUSE. This has been done to make a clear differentiation from the enterprise distro (SUSE Linux Enterprise) to the community-driven distro (openSUSE Linux), and also, by many requests, to finally make the name of the product match the name of the project.

You can read the product highlights here, but I have a short list of what is most important to me:

  • KDE 3.5.5
  • Gnome 2.16
  • Python 2.5
  • X.org 7.2
  • XGL + AIGLX
  • Compiz (there is also Beryl on 3rd party repos)
  • Kernel 2.6.18 (btw, it’s now SMP only, no UP available)
  • Xen 3.0.3
  • cdrkit (fork from cdrecord)
  • and many more!

There has been no reports about anyone upgrading from 10.0 or 10.1 to 10.2 using Smart yet. We hope to get some pretty soon. [UPDATE] Christoph Tiel has just reported that he managed to run a complete upgrade from 10.1 to 10.2 on a test box completely using Smart. That’s great!

By the way, Guru and Packman already started their package rebuilding for 10.2. I’m thinking about doing it with my own packages, but only after I get my desktop upgraded.

Well, this will be a fun weekend.

Written by netmask

dezembro 7, 2006 às 11:14

Publicado em linux

Tagged with ,

Uma resposta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. netmask RPMs for openSUSE 10.2…

    I’ve just rebuild the packages on my repository on the openSUSE Build Service into openSUSE 10.2, even though I haven’t upgraded my own computers yet. Soon I’ll be reviewing all of them checking for new releases, and add some others t…

    I do what I can...

    dezembro 8, 2006 at 12:55


Deixe uma resposta

