I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

I'm going with PS3 (if I can afford)

with 8 comments

Following the “what-should-I-buy” type of articles, I’ve just read one that intends to help deciding among Wii, Xbox 360 or PlayStation3 (pt_BR only). Nothing changed my idea about buying a PS3, I just realized that it would be more difficult than I thought because Sony won’t officially sell it in Brazil. Dam!😦

Well, besides it, here are my points that made me choose PS3 over the others:

  1. PS3 comes with a Blue-Ray drive, which IMHO is much better than HD-DVD.
  2. PS3 can run Linux (another article).
  3. PS3 will run legacy games from PS{1,2} (even emulation from other platforms).
  4. PS{1,2} market is very big in Brazil, so it will be easy to find games for PS3.
  5. Xbox 360 is from Microsoft (big negative point).
  6. Wii looks fun, but the graphics are just horrible (maybe I’ll buy one just to satisfy my geekness).

So, despite the fact that I will probably need to spend some considerable amount of money, PS3 looks much better to me, and it’s in my 2007 Christmas’s shop list. Why not now? Because I first need a decent TV.😉

Written by netmask

novembro 29, 2006 às 09:38

Publicado em hardware

Tagged with ,

8 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. #5 is foobar. Microsoft doesn’t segment the world and then sue a retailer into oblivion* if they export to ‘bendover’ countries in Europe. Sony is just as evil as MS if not worse.

    * http://www.lik-sang.com

    Jakub Steiner

    novembro 29, 2006 at 10:41

  2. Jakub is right. Sony has a history of evilness that makes Microsoft seem small fish. My reason for not buying an Xbox is simple: its culture favors PC-style games, and I don’t play PC-style games.

    It was interesting to see the reasons someone would buy a PS3. It made even clearer why I won’t:

    #1 doesn’t matter to me because I couldn’t care less about the media my games come on;

    #2 is a good point, but not enough for me to want to pay that much money (I’m also skeptical, given the lousy hackability of PS2 Linux);

    #3 is bogus because a) Wii has emulation too and b) these days you can unofficialy emulate mostly anything on everything (I play NES on my DS, SNES on PS2 etc.)

    #4 is also a good point, though you’re being euphemistic (the PS has a large market of unlicensed copies in Brazil). However, although PS1/2 got thousands of games, 90% of them are ugly worthless pieces of crap.

    #6 also doesn’t matter because graphics are the last thing I’m worried about in games. Even to this day most of the games I enjoy are 2D.

    A PS2 is worth three months of my earnings.

    Sony is pure evil.

    I do care about innovation in videogames, and I’m excited with the Wii.

    Wii has most of my favourite franchises: Mario, Zelda, Metroid, Made in Wario, Bokujou Monogatari, the list goes on.

    Leonardo Boiko

    novembro 29, 2006 at 13:09

  3. Er… sorry for the formatting, that was supposed to be an unordered list.

    Leonardo Boiko

    novembro 29, 2006 at 13:11

  4. Also, s/A PS2 is worth/A PS3 is worth/. I’m awful today😐

    Leonardo Boiko

    novembro 29, 2006 at 13:15

  5. […] Wow! Playstation 3 (PS3) is already selling in Brazil as an imported product (as already mentioned), and just confirmed that I can’t afford it. […]

  6. […] was reviewing my posts, and found one I had to do a follow up. Once I said that I would go with PS3 if I could afford it. Well, I can, but when it came the time to buy, it was not worth […]

  7. […] 2006 I said that I would go with PS3 (if I could afford it). Well, by the time the opportunity came, I could not, so XBox360 was the obvious choice. So, what […]

  8. […] daqueles que supostamente não são afetados pelo bug do 3rl, ou comprar um Playstation como eu havia prometido a mim mesmo. Infelizmente não posso pensar nisso agora. Tenho outras prioridades no […]


Deixe uma resposta

