I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Finally 64 bits! (at least the hardware)

with 5 comments

I’ve finally got my first 64 bits system!

After a motherboard crash, I had to decide if I was going to install a regular socket 754 based system and save some money, or spend a little more a go all trough socket 939. But the fact is that I was definetely sure that I wanted a 64 bits system (and, of course, the computer stores near me none had any 32 bits mobo/proc anymore😉 ).

Now I’ve got an ECS RS482-M. I know it’s not the best, and I don’t like ATI graphics chips, but it’s a cheap socket 939 mobo, and it delivers me everything I need (PCI-Express, DDR400 dual channel, SATA, etc). Speaking about PCI-Express, I didn’t buy a graphics card yet, I’ll still stick with the on-board ATI X200 (terrible chip btw, my old FX5200 was much better), but I’m still deciding which NVIDIA card I’m going to buy.

I also got an Athlon64 3000+. It’s a very fast processor, and just my first one on the 939 road (I know, M2 is out, but it’s still expensive). Also, for a better performance, I’ve got two 512MB Samsung DDR 400MHz, that will use the full power of the dual-channel architecture (and yes, DDR2 is also too expensive).

Unfortunately I don’t have much time to play with it now. I’ll be on a business trip for the next two weeks, so I’ll be delaying the fun. Here’s my TODO list: reinstall the system with a 64bits SUSE 10.1, make 3D work on the ATI on-board card, and/or buy a PCI-Express NVIDIA.

BTW, Linux rocks! (of course) I didn’t had to reinstall anything for this motherboard change (the older had a VIA chipset, the new is ATI-based). The only thing I had to do was booting into rescue mode and rebuild the initrd so it would load sata_sil instead of sata_via. Cool as always!

Written by netmask

julho 16, 2006 às 11:30

Publicado em hardware

Tagged with

5 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Imagino que você não pode pesquisar em São Paulo. De qualquer forma sua escolha me parece boa.

    Eu quero alguma coisa com vídeo onboard (e que seja Nvidia), e que seja 100% funcional em Linux. Você chegou a pesquisar outras alternativas ? Tem algo mais a recomendar ?

    Claudio André

    julho 22, 2006 at 20:30

  2. Não pesquisei muito, mas pelo que eu vi qualquer placa com chipset
    NForce3 ou NForce4 tá rodando legal.

    Eu só comprei essa ATI por falta de opção, se pudesse teria comprado
    NVidia.

    netmask

    julho 26, 2006 at 08:45

  3. […] Ps.: The older laptops are being retired. They’re coming back to their original owners, so I’m going to stay with only this one laptop and the recently upgraded desktop. […]

  4. Now on 64bits.
    Linux claudioandre 2.6.16.21-0.13-default #1 Mon Jul 17 17:22:44 UTC 2006 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

    Ainda não estou impressionado. Vamos ver quando eu colocar alguma coisa para compilar !

    Claudio André

    agosto 4, 2006 at 22:41

  5. […] a long time with my old Athlon 3000+, I decided it was time for an upgrade. After not-so-careful choosing, here’s what I […]


Deixe uma resposta

