I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

What language should I use? Que língua devo usar?

with 3 comments

–en

My dear blog readers. I was thinking about writting a little more on this blog, either about my computer/geekie adventures or either about my personal/boring life. But I have a very difficul question surrounding me: what language should I use?

Since the beginning of this blog I have been writing in a mix of english+portuguese, only english, or only portuguese, and it has been very difficult to maintain (long posts are very hard to translate, either en/pt or pt/en). (Yeah, Aurelio, I know you told me that😉 )
Now that I would like to write a little more, I need to know what languages do my blog readrs know, so that I can decide what to do. For that I created a little poll named “What language? Que língua?“.

Please, you that read this blog, and would like to keep reading it, point your oppinion on that poll so I can make up my mind. Thank you very much!🙂

–pt_BR

Caros leitores do meu blog. Eu estava pensando em escrever um pouco mais neste blog, seja sobre minhas aventuras informáticas/nerds ou sobre minha vida pessoal/chata. Mas tenho uma pergunta difícil me cercando: que língua devo usar?

Desde o início deste blog tenho escrito em um mix de inglês+português, só inglês, ou só português, e tem sido bastante difícil de manter (entradas grades são difíceis de traduzir, seja de en/pt ou pt/en). (Sim, Aurelio, você disse isso😉 )

Agora que eu gostaria de escrever um pouco mais, preciso saber que línguas meus leitores conhecem, de forma que eu possa decidir o que fazer. Para isso criei uma pequena enquete chamada “What language? Que língua?“.

Por favor, você que lê esse blog, e quer continuar lendo, vote na sua opinião nessa enquete de forma que eu possa tomar minha decisão. Muito obrigado!🙂

Written by netmask

julho 13, 2006 às 14:31

Publicado em anything

Tagged with

3 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oi Mauricio.

    Apesar de partilhar a mesma lingua, penso que se vc escrever em ingles consegue fazer com que mais pessoas leiam.

    Mas vc tb tem de pensar se isto é um blog pessoal ou não e quais as pessoas que quer que leiam (amigos ou anonymous).

    Também tem de pensar que se vc passa apenas a escrever o ppl do PlanetSuse é capaz de não gostar.

    A minha opinião é:
    Temas IT – Como normalmente são curtos, pode ser em ingles e pt_br
    Private life: em pt, pq é para os amigos….

    Abraço e obrigado.

    JR

    Joao Ramos

    julho 14, 2006 at 09:00

  2. I use both languages. Depending on the target audience of a given blog post, I use a different language. For personal issues, I use mostly portuguese. For technical issues that may have a larger audience, I use english. When the post is short or important enough and I am not lazy, I translate it to both languages (those cases are rare).

    I use blog categories to tell which language was used for each post. For aggregators such as Planet Mandriva, I’ve asked the administrator to use the RSS feed for the english posts, so I won’t spam the site with portuguese posts.

    Eduardo Habkost

    julho 14, 2006 at 13:11

  3. BTW, the poll page isn’t working on Konqueror, here. 😦

    Eduardo Habkost

    julho 14, 2006 at 13:13


Deixe uma resposta

