I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

My new repository using OpenSUSE Build Service

with 5 comments

Yes! OpenSUSE Build Service rocks hard!🙂

I decided to start using this new and awesome service from the nice people that make SUSE Linux. It’s a very comples compilation farm where people put their spec files and sources and build RPM packages for various SUSE releases (from 9.0 up to 10.1) and even other distributions (currently Fedora and Mandriva).

Using this so neat service I can build packages for SUSE Linux 10.0 and 10.1 either on i586 or x86_64 with mere 2 or 3 commands. After successfuly building, the packages are copied to an ftp area, the repository metadata is generated, and everything is automatically mirrored. Is it possible to be any easier?😉

I’m currently working to move all my packages from the old repository to the new one. So if you would like to give it a try, you just need to add the repositories for 10.0 or 10.1 on your package manager of choice. Mine is (obviously) smart, so, the trick is:

10.0
smart channel –add http://software.opensuse.org/download/home:/netmask/SUSE_Linux_10.0/home:netmask.repo

10.1
smart channel –add http://software.opensuse.org/download/home:/netmask/SUSE_Linux_10.1/home:netmask.repo

I hope my packages are usefull to anyone other than me.😉

By the way, I’m always open to new suggestions if you need something I could help providing.

Have fun!

Written by netmask

junho 21, 2006 às 22:36

Publicado em Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

5 Respostas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sound cool… how do I get a own build service account?

    SyNC

    junho 22, 2006 at 06:03

  2. Could you pls create a rpm pkg of aspell pt_BR? http://www.ic.unicamp.br/~oliva/snapshots/aspell-pt_BR/

    Estevam

    junho 22, 2006 at 07:20

  3. SyNC, you need to enter de opensuse-buildservice{at}opensuse{dot}org mailing list and ask for directions.

    netmask

    junho 22, 2006 at 10:07

  4. Estevam! The package is there! Please, test it and report by e-mail if something goes wrong!🙂

    netmask

    junho 22, 2006 at 11:39

  5. […] By the way, two tips for SUSE users. (a) I couldnâ??t make SUSEâ??s MadWifi packages to work correctly because I could only find madwifi RPM, but not madwifi-kmp-* on the main repository (help here?), but simply adding MadWifiâ??s official repo got everything running. (b) The Kismet package on SUSEâ??s repository refused to work with the latest MadWifi drivers, so I had to build my own upgraded package (check into my repository). […]


Deixe uma resposta

