I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

File name collision? / Colisão de nome de arquivos?

with one comment

–en
I was on that “doing-nothing-until-working-hours-end” part of the day thinking about how big a Linux distro could be, then I go curious about: “is it possible to have file name collisions?”. Let’s take my own workstation as an example:


~# smart stats
Installed Packages: 907
Total Packages: 9099

Dont’t you think it’s possible that among 9099 available packages I could find at least two packages that have at least one file with the same name each? I think there’s a very high probability in it.


~# rpm -qla | wc -l
181384

If I have 181384 files installed by 907 packages, imagine if I had at least 25% of the amount of available packages. Dam! Why did I miss the statistics classes at school?🙂

Anyway, if any of you ever faced that odd proabability in the real world, please, drop a comment bellow.

–pt_BR
Eu estava naquele momento do dia que chamamos de “não-fazer-nada-até-acabar-o-expediente” pensando em como pode ser grande uma distribuição Linux, então fiquei curioso sobre: “será possível ter colisão de nome de arquivos?”. Vamos ver minha própria máquina como exemplo:


~# smart stats
Pacotes Instalados: 907
Total de Pacotes: 9099

Vocês não acham que seria possível que entre 9099 pacotes disponíveis eu poderia encontrar pelo menos dois pacotes que tenham pelo menos um arquivo com o mesmo nome cada? Eu acho que existe uma probabilidade muito grande.


~# rpm -qla | wc -l
181384

Se eu tenho 181384 arquivos instalados por 907 pacotes, imaginem se eu tiver pelo menos 25% desses instalados. Droga! Por que eu faltei as aulas de estatística na faculdade?🙂

De qualquer forma, se algum de vocês alguma vez já se deparou com esse estranho problema no mundo real, por favor, deixe seu comentário abaixo.

Written by netmask

fevereiro 9, 2006 às 16:22

Publicado em linux

Tagged with

Uma resposta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, yeah, it happens. An instance was reported on Cooker mailing list just the other week – cdtool and cdp packages both contain a (different) binary called cdplay.

    AdamW

    fevereiro 9, 2006 at 18:52


Deixe uma resposta

