I do what I can

Random thoughts from Mauricio Teixeira…

Mandriva XFS bug

with one comment

I just realized that the XFS (X Font Server, not the filesystem) has a bug when using UTF-8 as the default system charset. I discovered it when I was trying to load fluxbox and it was hanging, but if I stopped the xfs service it loads. Digging into Mandriva’s bugzilla, I found out about the bug #14636. When I disabled the koi8-u font it all went well (see comments #19 and #23).

I hope they get it working anytime soon, since UTF-8 will be the default charset in future releases. As also stated in the bug report, it looks like that any gtk1 based application won’t load because of this bug. Well, I didn’t test any yet, but I’m quite positive about it too.

BTW, before installing Mandriva I questioned some people about why it uses reisefs as the default filesystem, and some of them argued that it was having problems with xfs (the filesystem). Well, I’m working with it, and it’s fine until now. Posted this comment just to clarify the differences about xfs as font server and filesystem.

Written by netmask

junho 16, 2005 às 09:36

Publicado em Uncategorized

Tagged with

Uma resposta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice report, now contact the Planet Mandriva guys and be syndicated!🙂

    claudio

    junho 17, 2005 at 08:15


Deixe uma resposta

